Daily Archives: July 25, 2022

Paper Bag Scraps as Mini Art Journal Base Pages

As mentioned before, I don’t always get to reuse Starbucks paper bags when they get stained with food & drinks. Such stained papers cannot be sent for recycling either. But usually the top half of the paper bags are clean, so after removing the paper handles for making coiled coasters, I trim away the clean top portion of the paper bag for crafting materials. The same goes for the top folded half of McDonald’s takeaway paper bags too.

The stiffer kraft paper from Starbucks paper bags serve as excellent base pages for mini 3-ring art journals. Just cut to the required size and punch holes in the appropriate positions – I can easily obtain about 10 such pages from a salvaged portion of one paper bag.

For the smaller paper scraps, and the thinner McDonald’s paper bags, they would be an excellent source for kraft paper materials in crafting projects. The top of the McDonald’s bags are usually creased from handling, but once further crumpled and flattened, would make beautiful textured backgrounds for cardmaking and art journaling.

My only problem now is finding a suitable method to contain the papers! I had started with using an envelope, but the amount of waste packaging materials and paper bags I’ve put aside for future crafting use have accumulated faster that the rate I use them up! Think I need a large box to hold all these scrap papers so that I can easily rummage through them during crafting sessions!