Art Collage Postcards using Magazine Papers

Issue 4-2022 of Daphne’s Diary magazine provided plenty of crafting inspiration for me this month (as usual we get it a month late in the bookstores here). After reading the magazine over 2 nights and reminiscing with the husband our trip to Interlaken (which didn’t seem as interesting to me as the article described, though my husband disagreed), I proceeded to start crafting with the many resources the magazine provided.

One entire article on an Italian pasta lunch gathering provided not just the usual recipes and decorating tips, but also related craft projects as well. The 5″ x 7″ menu cards provided are printed on thin cardstock, but having no intention whatsoever to organise such a formal meal, I decided to make use of the pretty papers to make art collage postcards instead.

I covered the printed menu side with coloured cardstock from my craft stash; this also helps to reinforce the postcards. The cardstocks are trimmed to 4.25″ x 6.25″, and I plan to restrict my writing to an area less than 4″ x 6″. Then my friends can use the postcards as photo mats (for 4R photos) if they want to!

The front of the menu cards are lovely Italian-themed prints. These become beautiful backgrounds for the lemon slices that were meant to serve as templates/stencils for paint printing. I then scoured the magazine for suitable sentiments and pictures to complement the lemons!

The black & white butterflies are fussy cut from a colouring page in the magazine. The various forms of Summer” are cut from the article relating snippets of facts about the season.

The ice lolly picture came from the same article too, as does the sentiment. The slice of apricot came from the project for an apricot wreath – there are still plenty of pictures left for a small wreath later! I can’t quite remember where the strawberries are fussy cut from though: perhaps the recipe for a strawberry cake?

Isn’t it amazing what can be found from a single magazine if one looks hard and long enough??!!

1 thought on “Art Collage Postcards using Magazine Papers

  1. Pingback: ATC Cards of Recent Projects | Trying to Craft

Leave a comment