Daily Archives: August 3, 2022

Rub-on Transfer Pouch

Didn’t get to craft much last month as I was busy with work. So for some quick me-time and a fast project, I decided to make use of the rub-on transfer kit I bought earlier from the Cityluxe online shop: a Craft MU Series print-on sticker set, which comes with a plain cotton drawstring pouch.

Separately, I had also gotten a 2-set bundle of print-on transfers of the same brand from Tokyu Hands – the price is about 10% cheaper due to limited designs and the bundle comes with a sturdy wooden stick. I decided to try combining the floral designs with the vintage prints and keep the marble print aside for future projects.

Basically for rub-on transfers, one just has to cut out the desired design (so that the rest of the sheet doesn’t get in the way during the transfer), remove the backing sheet, place the design flat on the craft surface, rub all over the surface with a hard object eg. wooden stick, plastic ruler or bone folder, then peel off the plastic sheet.

I must say that compared to the quality of the rub-on transfers decades ago when I was a teenager, the print-on stickers nowadays are of much much much better quality: the designs are not only pretty with plenty of variety, they come off easily and cleanly without breaking into pieces. Provided of course, that one rubs on all over the design fully – always peel off the plastic sheet slowly, then it’s possible to replace the plastic to complete the rub-on transfer should any detail be left out!

I am very glad that my ideas worked out as well as I imagined! The muted floral colours combined really well with the wordy vintage prints! The bouquet of flowers on one side of the pouch is a tad smaller than I expected for the centre of the pouch, but I’m pleased enough with the composition.

I have yet to use the pouch so I don’t know how lasting the print-on designs will be. Tried scrunching up the cloth pouch and the transfer is still intact with no visible cracks, so I guess light duty use will definitely be fine.

I once read an online comment that rub-on transfers are slower to work with compared to using stickers and paper/glue. This is true when one is used to speedy crafting. Compared to using ink & stamps and other multi-media techniques, however, this method of getting the desired design is faster and less messy – and nothing to clean up afterwards!

I love how this technique gives flat results, so it’ll be good for my schedule book or where I don’t want any bulkiness at all. But since the rub-on transfers are good for non-paper surfaces, might as well make use of the expensive (compared to stickers) print-ons for decorative wood slices. I’m also considering getting a pack of similar cloth pouches to make a whole set for gifting. Or perhaps some quick coasters?