Daily Archives: October 12, 2019

Upcycling Old Calendar as Tag Album

20191004_183617-e1570532587118.jpg

Another item I found that I’ve squirreled away was my used Laura Ashley 2011 wall calendar, a free gift from the Japanese InRed magazine. I loved the prints of the various months (these were patterns from the brand), and decided to use the pretty papers to make another tag album for another set of old photographs I found during the big move.

Similar to the previous tag album made using old magazine covers, I cut the patterned papers into 6″ squares. But because these papers are thinner and flimsier, I backed every square on a piece of coloured 6″ cardstock. To hide the fact that my squares are not completely aligned or cut exactly to size, I inked, then distressed all the edges. Then I ran a tracing wheel twice along each edge to make a quick & easy border.

20191008_184616.jpg

The holes for the tags are in the same position as the original holes on the calendar papers. I added reinforcement rings on the reverse to strengthen them.

20191008_174746.jpgWith the paper scraps, I created simple layouts on both the reverse and the front of the tags. Nothing too fancy, as I am not sure how long such papers would last, and so didn’t want to use my stash of embellishments (it’s not easy to convince a hoarder to break out her stuff!).

But this simple tag album will now host the photos of the friendly people I met during the months I worked before I started university. I’ve never come across some of them again, even though Singapore is so small, but I still remember the happy times we’ve spent in the office. Now these pleasant memories will be stored on a pretty album instead of being hidden in an envelope.