Bande Transfer Masking Tape

Bought a Traveler’s Notebook and wanted to decorate the plain cloth pouch that came with it. So out came my rub-on transfers, including my new bande transfer masking tape – gold stars.

While it is convenient to have the rub-on transfer in washi tape roll size, I found the top layer hard to peel off after rubbing. Probably it is not designed for use on cloth (no such mention on the packaging).

But the resulting transfer gives a pretty bling-bling metallic sheen. I’ll probably use it to create borders in future, as the tape design makes it easy to form straight lines.

I had thought to create a kind of abstract picture on the pouch, transferring the full marble design from Craft MU in random patches instead of forming a complete background. But it wasn’t possible to add the gold stars on top of the green areas, as the sticky tape would remove the pattern when it is peeled off. I had to slot in the gold strips wherever I could.

The resulting design is totally not what I imagined when I started the project! I’m now thinking how to salvage this…….if unsuccessful, I’ll have get another cloth pouch for my traveler’s notebook.

Leave a comment