Daily Archives: December 5, 2023

Little Memo Collages

There was a gathering organised by the Traveler’s Notebook Singapore User Group (TNSG) in early December, and having received a beautiful stamped message card during the previous event, I decided to prepare something to share with other participants this time round too.

Since I’m too lazy to dig out my stamps from the bottom of the craft cupboard, and not enjoying cleaning the stamps, I decided to just do some simple collages using stickers and washi tapes from my stash. I still have a lot of message cards from Daiso after the previous project, and so I just have work within the watercolour pastel floral borders.

The main focal point of the collages would be some butterfly stickers, chosen because of the size and matching style & colours. Then I selected washi tapes & stickers from my stash to coordinate. As usual, I wanted to anchor the design with a sentiment, and in the end, had no choice but to dig out my glue to attached the paper words trimmed from scrapbooking paper.

To speed up the creation process and maintain a uniform style, I restricted myself to just this total of 7 craft items. I also kept to just a simple sketch design, but by working in both horizontal and vertical for mats, and over 3 different colours schemes, there was a nice variety of the resulting memo cards.

In total, I made 21 collages (7 from each colour scheme) over 3 separate sessions, each lasting about an hour. Not very efficient as I worked the cards one by one, instead of batch-making sticking all the backgrounds first and the sentiments last.

But the satisfaction from completing each collage spurs me on to work on the next one, and I can stop my crafting session easily without the worry of having WIPs (work-in-progress) being carried over the next day and losing whatever inspiration I may have when I started the background. So I guess I’ll just continuing crafting slowly in this manner, at least for now.