Daily Archives: April 17, 2024

Snoppy-centric Mini Art Journal

I bought some Peanuts stickers from Miniso with the intention of using them in my mini 3-ring binder journal – I wanted create a cartoon-themed one and had already added mofusand and Miffy charms (both from Gachapon) to the spine for decoration.

I had been wondering what to do for the journal covers, and the metallic Snoopy PET film stickers look lovely enough on their own. I simply cut up the patterned backing cardboard of some of the sticker sets to use as the front & back cover of the mini journal.

Little puffy stickers add a further pop of colour.

For the inner covers, the metallic film stickers are now placed against a backdrop of coloured washi tape – double layered to try to block out the prints on the reverse of the backing cardboards!

This single journal page (on the reverse of my last ancient chinese scene) was created by simply adding MT washi tape and Coffret film stickers to the trio of puffy stickers. The rest of the Peanuts stickers I’m putting aside for future use. My plan is to fill up odd pages with Snoopy-themed designs, so that I can start new projects on new sheets.

Turns out the Snoopy-head memo papers are printed in light grey, not black like the cover page! So I outlined everything in black, taking the chance to use my various black pens. Then I placed the memo paper on the window and made use of the sunlight to trace the image on the underside of the paper. Thus creating a double-sided Snoopy head as my divider page! One Snoopy for every type of cartoon in this little journal!

I use permanent marker when tracing the reverse image (left photo), as it dries fast. The image made with the black Sakura Glaze pen is shinier (right photo) with slight raised dimension, but takes several minutes to dry completely.

Turns out that the shiny Sakura Glaze ink can stick to the plastic cover upon direct contact! The 2 small broken segments near the neck are the result of the ink being peeled off!!! Not sure if it happens because the ink hasn’t dried completely, but I’m not taking further chances. Remembering not to use the Sakura Glaze pen for this purpose anymore, and making sure the current Snoopy dividers are not touching any PET film surfaces!