Art Journaling with Jap Red Packets

I have a pileful of craft supplies to clear off the chair in our computer room, and my old Japanese red packets (pochibukuro) were among the stash. If I remember correctly, I bought these from Daiso when I was on business trip to Japan, which made these paper products more than 20 years old! In fact, some packets have started to yellow and have to be thrown away.

For those few designs that I loved so much I couldn’t bear to cut up at all, I simply punched holes to serve as pages in my mini 3-ring binder.

On their reverse blank sides, I fussy cut up other red packets to create simple collages.

The sakura (cherry blossom) seals that came with the pochibukuros are so old, their glue had dried up and many are no longer sticky. So I had to add my own glue to create the cheery backgrounds.

So glad to have finished these in time for this sakura season!

1 thought on “Art Journaling with Jap Red Packets

  1. Pingback: Simple Journal Page | Trying to Craft

Leave a comment