More Rub-On Transfer Pouches

Having enjoyed the results of the rub-on transfer pouch craft kit, I decided to try to use up the print-on stickers by creating more of such drawstring pouches. Of course, this meant spending more money to buy plain cotton pouches to craft on!! Luckily the local stationery shop Art Friend sells such stuff at a very affordable price – quality not as good as what was supplied in the craft kit, but it’ll do for simple usage.

I repeated the same formula of combining the two types of rub-on transfer stickers on the corners of both sides of the pouches. Really love the mix of vintage and floral prints!!

The 2-set bundle of transfers from Tokyu Hands had included a pack of coloured marbling prints. It’s tiring to rub and transfer the entire large rectangular area, not to mention it would look boring, so I worked on just one section of the rectangle on 1 side of the pouch, ending randomly at the edges. The remaining parts I used on the opposite side of the same pouch and added large floral prints to anchor the design.

I had some yellow floral rub-on transfers in my stash that was gifted by a friend last year. The prints are smaller though equally pretty on the pouches. But perhaps due to long storage time, it was more difficult to work with this old set of transfers: I had to put in more effort to rub for the transfer to be effective, and any overlapped portions tend to cause the designs to be removed by the new stickers instead of being added on. One pouch was totally wasted when I tried to create a wreath-like design around a vintage sentiment, and ended up having several blank patches where I tried to fill up the wreath to look fuller.

After working on 6 pouches, I still have a few floral prints left. Think I’ll use them up in my schedule book so that the quality of the transfer stickers won’t deteriorate in further storage.

Leave a comment